ATTITUDE CHECK!!!

Standard

Once in a while I will give this exercise in a sermon: “Put on your very best ‘woe is me’ face. Now with your saddest, most miserable ‘woe is me’ voice repeat after me: ‘Woe is me’.” Then I tell them, “Now then, when I shout ‘attitude check’ I want you to share the most enthusiastic “Praise the Lord” you can muster.”

Now which of those best describes you? I’m not talking about the person you want to be _ I’m talking about the person people actually see at home _ at work _ at the ball game _ when things are going well _ when things are falling apart at the seams.

If we are totally honest with ourselves sometimes when asked for an “attitude check” we are shouting “praise the Lord” with our mouth but hanging on to “woe is me” in our heart and mind.

Well, Jesus wants to change whatever needs to be changed in you from the inside out. He wants to do more than prevent you from getting drunk, having an affair, or robbing a bank. Jesus wants to be Lord of your attitude so that when “praise the Lord” comes out of your mouth it’s also coming from your heart and soul.

Here is an absolutely incredible promise: “If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation, the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Corinthians 5:17) And here is a prayer to help make sure that the new improved model of the person you have become is one that you and the people around you are happy to live with _ an attitude that becomes so contagious to unbelievers that it draws them to Jesus.  “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

OK, ready or not here it comes: “ATTITUDE CHECK!”

 

Leave a Reply

