I Think I’m Goin’ Fishin’


In Mark 1:16-18 we read “As Jesus walked beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew casting a net into the lake, for they were fisherman. ‘Come, follow me,’ Jesus said, ‘and I will make you fishers of men.’ At once they left their nets and followed him.”

For the next few years Simon and Andrew as well as many others learned that “come follow me” would be more than just thinking and knowing and discussing ideological principles, it would be living a life of God-honoring, sacrificial service. Now there would be times these men seemed to be more concerned about what they were going to get out of the relationship than what they were going to put into it.

I don’t think we are much different. We hear the call and are all in as long as we are talking about forgiveness and heaven and eternal life. However like being a commercial fisherman, being a Jesus follower can be hard work and at times frustrating. Being a fisher of men includes service and at times suffering and persecution

That means that whatever we do we must do it like Jesus would do it. It means that compassion and mercy must define our lives more than judgment. It means that we have absolutely no room for arrogance or condescension, no room for pride or self-righteousness, no room for an unforgiving spirit, no room for rumors and gossip, no room for grumbling and griping, on and on I could go.

If we are going to be effective fishers of men _ if we are going to reach the world for Jesus our lives must be a reflection of Jesus and that means that like he told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” (Luke 9:23)

There are lots and lots of people needing caught for Jesus and He knows right where they are. So, I think I’m goin’ fishin’ and I hope you’ll join me.

Leave a Reply

