Get After It Gator

Standard

This morning I was hanging out with the Apostle Paul by reading from his letter to the church at Ephesus: “We are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do” (Ephesians 2:10). Hmm, God has created us to do the good works He’s already prepared for us to do. And as if that isn’t scary enough, what if it’s in a new role, one we have never done before.

In 2012 Bill Hybels challenged leaders attending a Leadership Summit to pray a certain prayer for 30 days in a row…

My Morning Prayer

God, this is a new day. I freshly commit myself to the role you have invited me to play, as you are building your church in this world. I am awestruck again today that you include me in this grand life-giving, world-transforming endeavor. So today I will joyfully offer you:

My Love / My Heart / My Talents / My Energy / My Creativity / My Faithfulness / My Resources / and My Gratitude!

I commit all of myself to the role you have assigned me in the building of your church so that it may thrive in this world. And I will “bring it” today. I will bring my best. You deserve it. Your church deserves it. It is the Hope of the World.

That is a dangerous / scary prayer; after all, who knows where it will lead. Will you pray it? Will you commit to bring it? If it has you shaking in your boots then remember that Jesus has promised to have our backs or as He put it, “Surely I am with you always to the very end of the age.”(Matthew 28:20)

One of the greatest privileges in all of life is when Jesus taps you on the shoulder and says, “Hey! I have a role for you as I am building my church in this world. I’ve been preparing you your whole life for it.” How do you say no to that?” You don’t. You go wherever you are led to do whatever you are called on to do.

So church, “bring it” or as a friend of mine puts it, “Get after it gator.”

Leave a Reply

