Making the World a Better Place


A few weeks ago I was reading from Hosea and when I came to chapter 8 the very first verse really got my attention: “Put the trumpet to your lips! An eagle is over the house of the Lord because the people have broken my covenant and rebelled against my law. (Hosea 8:1)

Here are some observations. When that was written a trumpet would sound for two reasons. First it sounded the alarm that an enemy was approaching. It was also an alert to assemble and call upon God for divine deliverance.

The second thing I noticed is that an eagle was circling over Israel. When I did some research I found out that “eagle” could also be translated vulture. The implication is that unless the nation repented judgment was at hand.

Now I know that I am supposed to be an encourager but I don’t think I’ll shock anyone when I say that our nation is a mess and it seems that a vulture is circling our nation. The good news is that there is a solution. Now the solution won’t be found in a bill of congress or an executive order signed by the President or a decision handed down by a judge. As a matter of fact the solution has nothing to do with our government. The solution is the church proclaiming Christ and people coming into a saving relationship with Him by the grace that He offers.

Church, I don’t know what all God has called you to do but one thing I am certain of is that He hasn’t called you to whine about our nation being a mess. The very first thing we need to do is call on the name of the Lord _ in other words pray. So like Hosea put it: “Put the trumpet to your lips!” (Hosea 8:1) then help make the world a better place.

4 thoughts on “Making the World a Better Place

  1. John Beatty December 12, 2014 / 9:45 AM

    Refreshing and on point…thanks Ransom.

    • churchhelp December 22, 2014 / 11:59 AM

      Thanks John. Hope all is going well for you and Candy.

      • John Beatty December 22, 2014 / 12:55 PM

        We are active in our church. I have been working for Brinks for 6.5 years and am not Asst Manager of our branch. We have adopted a “truth and transparency” approach. It helps when you have a fellow brother in Christ as Manager. Praise God for His continual blessings!

  2. John Beatty December 22, 2014 / 12:56 PM

    should by NOW not not. haha

Leave a Reply

